The god I thought I knew isn’t the God who really is

Bob over at “The Boar’s Head Tavern” has quoted C. S. Lewis from A Grief Observed;

Images, I must suppose, have their use or they would not have been so popular. (It makes little difference whether they are pictures or statues outside the mind or imaginative constructions within it.) To me, however, their danger is more obvious. Images of the Holy easily become holy images – sacrosanct. My idea of God is not a divine idea. It has to be shattered time after time. He shatters it himself. He is the great iconoclast. Could we not almost say that this shattering is one of the marks of his presence? The incarnation is the supreme example; it leaves all previous ideas of the Messiah in ruins. And most are ‘offended’ by the iconoclasm; and blessed are those who are not.

“My idea of God… has to be shattered time after time.” 

Jesus “leaves all previous ideas of the Messiah in ruins.”.

My ideas of God. In ruins. Time after time.

What I was willing to stake everything on used to be quite a list, theologically. Not so much these days.

So, I’ll just say this, Jesus is the only one with the words of eternal life. I’ve got no where else to go.

 

 

Leave a Reply

