What I know (abridged)

Some (10) things I know in my head:

1. God is love.

2. My salvation is all grace.

3. I am not my own, I was bought with a price.

4. Don’t worry.

5. Don’t covet.

6. Stuff won’t make me happy.

7. I can never be “good enough”.

8. God is always and everywhere.

9. It’s harder for a rich man to get into heaven than for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle.

10. All of scripture hangs on these, love God, love your neighbor.

 

How I live.

1. God is love. But I don’t feel it, so it doesn’t make much difference day to day. 

2. My salvation is all grace. But I want some credit too, so I can have some say in the matter

3. I am not my own, I was bought with a price. But I’m still gonna do what I want to do.

4. Don’t worry. Yeah, right.

5. Don’t covet. At least not in the open.

6. Stuff won’t make me happy. But it does for a little while, and I like it.

7. I can never be “good enough”, but I can be “better than….”

8. God is always and everywhere, but I don’t think about, or live like it very often.

9. It’s harder for a rich man to get into heaven than for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle. I, however, am the exception. I am rich, and will make it in.

10. All of scripture hangs on these, love God, love your neighbor. And I act like knowing this, and cherry picking when to act like it is enough.

2 responses to “What I know (abridged)

  1. One word: “ouch!”

  2. Indeed.

Leave a Reply

