Much ado about nothing

I’ve rewritten this about four times now.

I don’t know how to say what I want to say.

What I do know is that lots of energy, resources and lives are used in a lot of activity that we call “ministry”, that may not do anything that actually minsters.

I spend a lot of time talking about ministry, and good deal less doing ministry.

Why?

1. It’s easier.

2. I can control it.

3. It makes me look good.

4. That’s what I grew up in.

5. That’s the model available to me.

6. ?

I’ve got another meeting tonight.

We’ll talk about how to get our congregation to pray more. We will pray.

It’ll be about 6 to 1 talk to prayer.

This was the “verse of the day” today.

“For the kingdom of God does not consist in talk but in power.”- I Cor 4:20

7 responses to “Much ado about nothing

  1. jimmy paravane

    Is obedience the expression of this power?

  2. Yes, but not the only expression.
    What are you thinking?

  3. Just re-read my response. It could be interpreted as insulting, that’s not the way I meant it. I’m really asking for your thoughts.

  4. jimmy paravane

    Oh really? Now I’m wondering how that could have been read as insulting! (grin)
    Actually I just meant that inaction is only not an expression of this power when it’s not done in obedience. IMHO, as always.

  5. Wonder no more. Insulting as in, “What are you thinking (you idiot)? Completely unintended, of course.

    I think my concern is that inaction (talk only) tends to substitute for obedience (actual ministry), rather than not doing something out of obedience. I agree that inaction can be a powerful expression of the kingdom way.

  6. jimmy paravane

    Maybe I should have stated it as “Obedience is the expression of this power”. But that’s just words online. (grin)

  7. Right on. More power to ya.

Leave a Reply

