Prayer requests

Had coffee with one of the church staff yesterday. At the end of our time I asked how I could pray for him and his family.

I always ask.

It’s a good way to let them know a couple of things. One, that I really do care about them, and not what they can do for me. Two, that I realize the nature of the battles we all fight is a spiritual one. 

It also sends some subtle signals.

One, that I’m a praying person. This is a big li… untrut … exaggerati … not completely accurate. I wish I were a man of prayer, I want to be a man of prayer. I’m not… yet. When I ask folks how I can pray for them I am sincere, I really want to know. Not so I can gossip, or “be in the know”, but so that when (and if) I pray I’ll have a better understanding and focus to my prayers. 

At least that’s what I tell myself. 

Truthfully though, I know better. Unless I do it right then while we’re together, or immediately as I’m leaving, it probably won’t happen. You see, I’m not what you would call a gifted intercessor. I’m more in line with Abba Macarius, who when asked, “How should one pray?”, answered,

“There is no need at all to make long discourses; it is enough to stretch out one’s hand and say, ‘Lord, as you will, and as you know, have mercy.’ And if the conflict grows fiercer say: ‘Lord, help.’ He knows very well what we need and he shows us his mercy.” 

The best I can come up with is to say, like a wise man I knew, “Lord, this is what I want. Now, what do you want?”

So if I ask you how I can pray for you, tell me the truth, but don’t envision a prayer warrior on his knees for hours on your behalf. Maybe one day, but not yet.

As for now, a quick lifting of my heart in silence and hopeful, helpless dependence on God, is all I’ve got.

3 responses to “Prayer requests

  1. The best solution to not being a prayer warrior is first to pray that God make you one. Then get a spiral notebook and write the date and time and the prayer request. Leave a space to write the date/time when and how it was answered. Then set a daily appointment with God. When it is time for your appointment, get your notebook and pray through all the unanswered prayer requests. Note down any answered prayers and how they were answered. God bless!

  2. Thanks Walter, I appreciate the help.

  3. Pingback: Seeking and Discovering Life on Other Blogs « Thinking Out Loud

Leave a Reply

